In 1913 William Reader was appointed Parks Superintendent for the City of Calgary. Along with the job came a charming Arts and Crafts house located on almost three acres of land below the Union cemetery. Along with the man came vision, talent, energy and passion whose goal was to demonstrate the ecological, horticultural and aesthetic possibilities of gardening in Calgary. Ultimately he turned the barren land into a showpiece garden containing almost 4,000 plants, attracting visitors from all over the world.
After Mr. Reader’s death the garden went into decline and eventually lay ruined and forgotten except for a few individuals who treasured and respected his work.
Fortunately we can once again enjoy the garden and learn from his ideas through the dedication of the Friends of the Reader Rock Garden Society. In 2004 funds became available and the garden has been restored based on the meticulous notes kept by William Reader. It was reopened in 2006 and is quietly waiting on the corner of 25th Ave S.E. and MacLeod Trail for you to discover.
Go to www.readerrock.com for more info. Go to the garden for inspiration, relaxation and a nice cup of tea on the veranda of the gardener's house.